Michael Scheeringa, MD, awarded the 2013 Irving Phillips Award for Prevention

The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) has announced that Michael Scheering, M.D., as the recipient of AACAP’s 2013 Irving Philips Award for Prevention.

AACAP’s Irving Philips Award for Prevention was established in 1993 in honor of Irving Philips, M.D. Dr. Philips served as AACAP President from 1985-1987 and was renowned for his work in the field of prevention. This award recognizes a child and adolescent psychiatrist who has made significant contributions in a lifetime career or single seminal work to the prevention of mental illness in children and adolescents.